Skip to main content
Press Releases

Roll-out of high-speed internet hubs cannot be delayed

By November 25, 2019No Comments

The roll-out of high-speed internet hubs across the country is a welcome feature of the National Broadband Plan, but they need to be established as soon as possible, according to independent TD Michael Fitzmaurice.

A total of 30 of these hubs will be set up across counties Galway and Roscommon while the National Broadband Plan is being delivered.

It is hoped that people will have free access to high-speed internet at these hubs – which will be located in places such as libraries, community centers, schools and local facilities – from the second quarter of next year.

Speaking on the matter, Fitzmaurice said: “People in rural Ireland have been forced to wait for far too long already for quality broadband services.

“The introduction of these hubs must not be delayed as they will be a vital resource to areas where broadband coverage is poor at present.

“It is important that they are established and up and running as soon as possible.

“The hubs will provide people living in rural parts of the country with an opportunity to access high-speed broadband in their locality – while they wait for the National Broadband Plan to be rolled out,” he added.

A full list of the hubs located in counties Galway and Roscommon is included below. 


  1. Killeany, Co Galway
  2. Comhar Na Noileán, An Tra, Inis Oirr
  3. Coláiste Naomh Eoin, Carrowntemple, Inis Meáin
  4. Scoil Caomháin, An Tra, Inis Oirr
  5. Saint Colman’s National School, Tierneevin, Gort
  6. Kilcroan National School, Ballyglass South, Williamstown
  7. Saint Joseph’s National School, Boleybeg, Barna
  8. Briarhill National School, Breanloughaun, Ballintemple
  9. Saint Mary’s National School, Kippanagh, Clonbern
  10. Community Development Office, Inishbofin Community Centre, Middlequarter
  11. Lissoughter, Co Galway
  12. Cortoon Lavally Community Creche, Cortoon Community Centre, Cortoon
  13. Brownsgrove National School, Joycegrove, Brownsgrove
  14. Cahergal National School, Cahergal, Tuam
  15. Leitrim Community Centre, Carrowkeel, Kylebrack
  16. Comhar Chuigéal Teo., Lettermullen Community Centre, Teach Mor
  17. Tiernascragh National School, Longford, Ballycrissane
  18. Ballinakill National School, Ballynakill, Kylebrack
  19. Mweenish National School, Mweenish Island, Carna
  20. Glenamaddy, Co Galway


  1. Tawnytaskin Community Centre, Tawnytaskin, Boyle
  2. Dangan Community Centre, Dangan, Kilmore
  3. Saint Patrick’s Hall, Drumboylan, Leitrim Village
  4. Tibohine Community Centre, Tibohine, Castlerea
  5. Gortaganny, Co Roscommon
  6. Termon National School, Termon, Castlerea
  7. Ballagh National School, Ballagh, Kilrooskey
  8. Creeve Community Centre, Drummullin, Elphin
  9. Carrownageelaun, Co Roscommon
  10. Cam Childcare, Cam, Brideswell